Setting up the new Veggie Patch

Here I sit with aching back and aching arms. Actually most of my muscles feel sore. And my knees, they hurt thanks to a ill behaved wheel barrow having a game with gravity and clattering into them!

I may ache, but I do have a strong sense of satisfaction. I have moved three deep beds, built one new one and filled four with soil!

WIth the beds in place I lined the base with a thick layer of newspaper, sprinkled on some blood and bone powder in readiness for the soil.

It is as I am pushing the barrow up to the top veggie patch, digging the soil out of the old beds and then wheeling it down to the new veggie patch, that I wish we did not live in the hills, oh for a flat garden.

On my first run, I filled the barrow. But as I struggled even to lift the handles of the barrow I realised I was going to have to double the number of trips as this was way to heavy for me to handle.

I pushed and shoved to get the heavy barrow moving, then as I turned into the decline I had to hold on for dear life to stop the barrow careering down the hill. By the time I reached the new deep bed at the bottom of the garden my arms were trembling and my back was saying “Enough”.

So half loads I did from that point on. A slow but sure plod to fill the four new beds with the rich soil contained in the old beds.

By the end of the day I have finally managed to get some plants into the new beds.

  • Bed 1: Round Zucchini and a sweet striped cucumber.
  • Bed 2: Four tomato plants
  • Bed 3: Butternut Squash
  • Bed 4: Beetroot and onions

Hubby arrives to check on my progress. “It’s gone 7pm honey”, he says.

Wow, how can it be that late in the day? No wonder my tummy is grumbling.

Time for a well deserved glass of shiraz and something yummy to eat!

This entry was posted in Deep Beds, Garden, Garden Planning, Planning, Veggie Patch and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Setting up the new Veggie Patch

  1. Be careful what you wish for. I have a flat garden and awful, clay soil that is very difficult to dig in.

    • You are so right. I have to say the soil in the Emerald Garden is mostly wonderful. Our block is on what used to be a huge tree nursery back in the days of the early settlers.

      The area where I am building the new veggie patch, sadly, doesn’t have the same fab stuff. It was levelled out by the previous owners and the good stuff was obviously scrapped off and a thin top soil reapplied.

      I had planned just to dig standard deep beds, but the soil quality was poor and hard to work, so raised beds it is!

  2. Oh, my goodness.. I could feel every ache in your muscles as you described your wheel barrow race… it’s a good thing you didn’t let go on the down-turn!! You have such knowledge of gardens and how to make them… I wouldn’t begin to know about newspapers and I’ve heard of blood and bone powder but that still sits in the “mysteriously intriguing” part of my brain.. I can’t wait to see your garden in bloom!!

    • I am sure I am quite an amusing sight, feeble old me and my out of control barrow. My poor knees came up quite bruised and I have three on my leg that have no known cause.

      I’ve been out in the garden this weekend, I am hoping to get some pics up soon.

  3. I’ve just popped over from Smige’s blog. And a delightful read it is. Oh I know that “happy” ache of muscles from digging and barrowing 🙂 I have an allotment, I chose the plot furthest away from the gate, which means an uphill arrival for everything!
    Mind you it’s amazing how effective a glass of Shiraz can be !

Leave a Reply

