The first harvest from the Greenhouse

It may only be one humble cucumber, but this is a cucumber I have lovingly tended myself, so yes, I confess to being a little excited to pick my first produce.

Crystal Apple Cucumber as at 8th December 2011

I grew a crystal apple cucumber in the veggie patch last year,  it grew well and produced quite a few cucumbers, but it was unruly and as soon as the fruit got to any size they became full of seed and had very little flesh, and it had a slightly bitter.

This year I am growing the cucumbers in the greenhouse. They are in 30cm pots with three canes training the vine in spirals. I feel much more in control than last year.

The cucumber plants are at the back growing up their canes

The advice I read online said to pick the fruit small, so this is what I have done today. These cucumbers are lovely to look at, little round spiky things, quite different to the usual long green cucumbers we are so used to.

So today, 9th December 2011, I snipped off my first Crystal Apple and proudly brought it in from the garden. Small and neat, just perfect for a sandwich.

The humble Cucumber

I first peeled off the pale skin as it is a little prickly. Cutting into the cucumber I was surprised at how many seeds were inside, but trying a slice proved my concern unnecessary, it was delicious.

There seemed to be lots of seeds, but the flesh was crisp and sweet

Of course my first harvest had to be eaten at lunch time, so a soft bread bap with a slice of Jarlsberg cheese was crowned with my lovingly sliced Crystal Apple.

From vine to sandwich, delicious!

Now I know this is far from gourmet food, but my goodness my cucumber was superb. It’s flavour was fresh, sweet and refreshing. It’s flesh was firm but so juicy, a true delight.

There is another cucumber nearing picking size, so I wonder just how many cucumbers I will have eaten by the end of the growing season?

Happy harvesting!

This entry was posted in Cucurbits, Greenhouse Gardening, Greenhouse Plants, Harvest, In the Kitchen, Vegetables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The first harvest from the Greenhouse

  1. The Hook says:

    Well done, little lady!

  2. jim says:

    i am in my second season of growing these, and i love them. Try slicing think in yogurt and lemon juice and a pinch of salt. Even add some proper ground ginger. Wonderful. They are bizarre and wonderful plants that I grow up a trellis on a sunny wall.

  3. jim says:

    I meant to say ‘thin’ not think! silly me

Leave a Reply

